Main Menu

Additional Links
MLB Network

Minor League Baseball

Baseball America

International League
Buffalo Bisons
Charlotte Knights
Columbus Clippers
Durham Bulls
Gwinnett Stripers
Indianapolis Indians
Lehigh Valley IronPigs
Louisville Bats
Norfolk Tides
Pawtucket Red Sox
Rochester Red Wings
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders
Syracuse Mets
Toledo Mud Hens

Pacific Coast League
Albuquerque Isotopes
El Paso Chihuahuas
Fresno Grizzlies
Iowa Cubs
Las Vegas Avitors
Memphis Redbirds
Nashville Sounds
New Orleans Baby Cakes
Oklahoma City RedHawks
Omaha Royals
Reno Aces
Round Rock Express
Sacramento River Cats
San Antonio Missions
Salt Lake Bees
Tacoma Rainiers
 International League Timeline  
Notable Events in
International League History
1884 The IL (then called the Eastern League) is founded. Inaugural members include: Allentown, PA; Baltimore, MD; Harrisburg, PA; Newark, NJ; Reading, PA; Richmond, VA; Trenton, NJ; & Wilmington, DE.
1899 Rochester becomes a permanent member of the IL.
1901 The National Association (now Minor League Baseball) is formed.
1902 Harry O'Hagan (Rochester) records baseball's first unassisted triple play.
1914 Babe Ruth compiles a 23-8 record as a pitcher for Baltimore and Providence.
1921 Baltimore sets the IL record by winning 119 games.
1923 Baltimore's Lefty Grove sets the International League records for most strikeouts (330) and walks (186) in a season.
1925 Jack Dunn's Baltimore Orioles win their 7th straight pennant, the end of the greatest dynasty in IL history.
1930 July 3 - Buffalo plays the IL's first night game.
1930 Joe Hauser sets IL record with 63 HR for Baltimore.
1931 The Rochester Red Wings, led by manager Billy Southworth, win their 4th IL pennant in a row.
1933 Buffalo defeats Rochester in first Governors' Cup Series.
1938 May 6-7 - Newark's Bob Seeds has an outstanding two-game run, collecting 7 HR and 17 RBI in wins over Buffalo.
1946 Jackie Robinson plays for the IL's Montreal club, one year before breaking Major League Baseball's "color barrier".
1947 The International League inducts 9 members into the inaugural class of the IL Hall of Fame. 51 former players, managers, and executives were enshrined through 1963.
1954 Baltimore leaves the IL to join the American League as the League becomes truly "international" with the addition of a team in Havana, Cuba.
1958 Rocky Nelson (Toronto) wins his third IL Most Valuable Player Award (he is the only player to win the award more than twice).
1961 Long-time IL member Syracuse returns to the IL, replacing Montreal.
1965 Toledo returns to the IL after a 76-year absence, replacing Richmond.
1966 Atlanta leaves the IL to join Major League Baseball. Richmond replaces Atlanta on the IL roster.
1969 The New York Mets move their Jacksonville, FL franchise to Norfolk, Virginia.
1972 Tidewater represents the IL in the Kodak World Baseball Championship in Hawaii.
1973 Pawtucket replaces Louisville as an IL member.
1977 Columbus returns to the League after a six-year absence.
1981 April 18 - Pawtucket and Rochester begin the longest game in professional baseball history. The game is suspended at 4:07 AM on April 19 after the 32nd inning. Play is resumed on June 23rd with Pawtucket winning 3-2 in the 33rd inning.
1981 The Columbus Clippers become the first team to win three consecutive Governors' Cup Championships.
1983 Tidewater defeats Denver and Portland to win the Triple-A World Series in Louisville.
1988 IL begins interlocking schedule with Triple-A American Association, together forming the Triple-A Alliance.
1989 The Maine Guides move to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.
1989 First baseman Carlos Quintana starts games for both Pawtucket and Boston on the same day.
1991 IL leaves Triple-A Alliance to return to 8-team League.
1993 The IL expands from eight teams to 10, with the addition of expansion clubs in Charlotte and Ottawa.
1993 The IL becomes the first minor league to attract more than 4 million fans in a single season.
1998 The League expands to 14 teams with the addition of former American Association members Buffalo, Indianapolis, and Louisville and an expansion club in Durham.
1998 The IL becomes the first minor league to attract more than 6 million fans in a single season.
2001 The terror attacks of Sept. 11 bring a halt to the Governors' Cup Finals. The series is cancelled after one game, with Louisville declared the winner.
2003 The Durham Bulls win a second consecutive Governors' Cup Crown behind manager Bill Evers.
2006 The Toledo Mud Hens win their 2nd consecutive Governors' Cup, earning the right to play in the first Bricktown Showdown versus PCL Champion Tucson.
2008 The Ottawa Lynx relocate to Allentown, PA. The new team, known as the IronPigs, represents the entire Lehigh Valley region.