Main Menu

Additional Links
MLB Network

Minor League Baseball

Baseball America

International League
Buffalo Bisons
Charlotte Knights
Columbus Clippers
Durham Bulls
Gwinnett Stripers
Indianapolis Indians
Lehigh Valley IronPigs
Louisville Bats
Norfolk Tides
Pawtucket Red Sox
Rochester Red Wings
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders
Syracuse Mets
Toledo Mud Hens

Pacific Coast League
Albuquerque Isotopes
El Paso Chihuahuas
Fresno Grizzlies
Iowa Cubs
Las Vegas Avitors
Memphis Redbirds
Nashville Sounds
Oklahoma City RedHawks
Omaha Royals
Reno Aces
Round Rock Express
Sacramento River Cats
San Antonio Missions
Salt Lake Bees
Tacoma Rainiers
Wichita Wind Surge
 International League Timeline  
Notable Events in
American Association History
1902 The American Association begins play with teams in Columbus, OH; Indianapolis, IN; Kansas City, MO; Louisville, KY; Milwaukee, WI; Minneapolis, MN; St. Paul, MN; & Toledo, OH.
1904 The AA's St. Paul club loses to Buffalo in the first Junior World Series.
1904 George Stone of Milwaukee hits .405 - the only AA player to ever top the .400 mark.
1914 Cleveland replaces Toledo as an AA member.
1916 Toledo returns to the AA, displacing Cleveland.
1918 The Columbus club begins a now-common practice by playing the National Anthem prior to games.
1918 July 21 - The American Association suspends operations in response to the government's work-or-fight edict during World War I.
1920 The St. Paul club, led by AA batting champ Joe Rapp, sets a League record with 115 victories.
1933 Minneapolis' Joe Hauser sets the League record with 69 home runs.
1938 19-year-old Ted Williams wins the Triple Crown, leading the AA with a .366 average, 43 HR, and 142 RBI.
1947 St. Paul catcher Roy Campanella becomes the first African-American to play in the AA.
1952 The AA's membership is altered for the first time since 1916 as Toledo folds during the season and moves to Charleston, WV.
1953 The AL's Boston Braves move to Milwaukee, forcing the AA to return to Toledo.
1954 Indianapolis' Herb Score sets an American Association record by striking out 330 opposing hitters.
1955 Columbus and Kansas City leave the Association and are replaced by Omaha and Denver.
1959 The AA expands to 10 teams for the first time, adding clubs in Dallas, Fort Worth, and Houston as Wichita drops out of the circuit.
1962 Houston leaves the AA for the National League and is replaced by Oklahoma City.
1963 The AA is disbanded as Indianapolis and Little Rock join the IL and Denver, Oklahoma City, and Dallas-Fort Worth are transferred to the PCL.
1969 The American Association returns as a Triple-A League with clubs in Indianapolis, Denver, Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Omaha, and Des Moines (Iowa). The League does not hold a playoff series.
1970 Evansville and Wichita join the AA, bumping the loop's membership to 8 clubs.
1982 The Springfield franchise moves to Louisville.
1983 The Louisville Redbirds become the first Minor League club to break the 1 million attendance barrier, drawing 1,052,438 fans to Cardinal Stadium.
1984 Louisville's Vince Coleman sets a League record with 101 stolen bases. He would be named NL Rookie-of-the-Year the next season with St. Louis.
1985 Buffalo returns to the Triple-A classification when the Wichita franchise relocates.
1988 AA begins interlocking schedule with International League. The two Leagues together formed the Triple-A Alliance with playoff champions participating in Triple-A Classic Playoff series.
1988 Buffalo hosts the first Triple-A All-Star Game. The AL affiliates defeat the NL affiliates, 2-1.
1989 Indianapolis wins their fourth straight American Association championship.
1990 Nashville left-hander Chris Hammond leads the AA with 15 victories, 149 strikeouts, and a 2.17 ERA to win the pitching Triple Crown.
1990 In a one-game playoff following the regular season, Nashville defeats Buffalo 4-3 in 18 innings (over 5 hours) to advance to the AA Championship Series.
1991 Triple-A Alliance is dissolved as AA returns to 8-team League for 1992 season.
1991 Buffalo sets the Minor League Single-Season Attendance mark as 1,240,951 fans watch Bisons games at Pilot Field
1993 The Denver territory is elevated to the Major Leagues and is replaced in the AA by New Orleans.
1997 AA Directors vote to disband League following season. Buffalo, Indianapolis & Louisville go to IL; Iowa, Nashville, New Orleans, Oklahoma City & Omaha join PCL.
1997 Buffalo wins final American Association Championship, defeating Iowa to claim the Title.